SSHD detection not working?

Hey, I’m new to crowdsec and found that the overall idea is amazing and I want to be a part of it.
Fail2Ban was my previous bouncer but it wouldn’t detect all SSH attempt for some odd reason. It only detected every second or third attempt. While searching for an alternative i found crowdsec. I decided to give it a try on my VPS. I disabled Fail2Ban and installed crowdsec + bouncer and it looks like it should work just fine. Looking at the documentation it should be all well and running. I even got my first alert after a few minutes (http-probing). Now I wanted to try the system out myself by bf ssh myself. I used a VPN to bf into my machine but i did not get stopped. I tried at least 50 times and did not get banned. This is not exactly how I’d imagine this. Am I doing something wrong? Where exactly do I change the bantime, findtime and maxretrys? I wasn’t able to find a good answer in the docs to that.

Here are some screenshots:
Metrics
Hub List

Thanks for the help
~SniperOwl

Hi

Happy you like our concept. So do we :slight_smile:

To help you out I need to know more about what’s going on. So could you please paste the output of /var/log/crowdsec.log?

Also pay attention to that you need the bouncer to be registered to the agent for it to work. Normally this happens automatically but please do a cscli bouncers list to make sure.

Thanks

Hey,

thanks for the amazingly quick reply. I really appreciate that.
Here is what I get from the command:

I just noticed that the IP i was using got banned a bit after i tried the bf. I cannot load my website with this ip but I can still use SSH.

Hi. Don’t worry, it was purely concidental :slight_smile:

Could you paste me relevant content of the crowdsec.log file? I need to know if your bf is detected and how the agent reacts to it.

Thanks

Hey,

I totally forgot to attach it for some reason. Here it is
This is a real attack btw but he got banned multiple times already.